An Education

6tag_050515-202322

Although it seems impossible, I am actually here on a university exchange, which means I actually do work… sometimes. And as the day of my final presentation for my major project approached I was nervous that with all the distractions in my life I would not be able to complete something to the standard of my classmates – all of which were German.

But as I nervously prepared to make my presentation, i knew that I was proud of what I had created. With the project surrounding the topic of coping we were given a open brief, where we could create anything from a poster to a book shelf, whatever took our interest. With only one thing being on my mind 4 months ago when I began this project, i naturally looked to my exchange for inspiration and decided to create a magazine full of the stories and photos of both my peers and myself, giving my project the extra meaning of being a memento to keep in the years to come.

Here are a few pages from my completed project.

6tag_170715-140152635727329125092299

635727329254665219

635727329065991613

WP_20150717_001

635727329024561434

And here are a couple of other projects from my class.

WP_20150717_002

My close friend created this system of interlocking panels each with a feature ideal to helping flatmates cope with living together. From knowing who’s cooking dinner, to knowing where to find a rubber band there is a solution for everything, in the hope that it will eliminate flatmate conflict.

WP_20150717_003

Another favourite was this assortment of desk gadgets. With technology becoming increasingly distracting my classmate created products to contain the distraction, including a clock with a a panel that covers the time and a case for your phone that will stop your phone from receiving signal or wifi.

Today marks the start of my summer holidays and the end of my first semester abroad. I have learnt so much already and I am so glad that I can go into next semester and dedicate myself more to my projects seeing as next time around I won’t have the problem of getting lost on my way to class.

One thought on “An Education

Leave a Reply

